Skip to Main Content

Decorative Caret Icon RMA Foundation Scholarships

Scholarship23 Hero 600X400 011223 Rgb V2 02

The 2023 Scholarship cycle is open January 3 to March 15


About our Scholarships

Students in an undergraduate program who are interested in working in the banking industry after graduation may apply for an RMA Foundation scholarship. The Risk Management Association Foundation offers scholarships to students in an undergraduate program who are interested in working in the banking industry after graduation. The RMA Foundation is awarding over $200,000 annually in scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $5,000. Winners may reapply for continuation of their scholarships for up to two additional years, provided each student fulfills the renewal requirements and maintains their student membership with RMA. 

As a not-for-profit, member-driven professional association, RMA promotes a community of like-minded banking professionals who share ideas and experiences to advance the use of sound risk management principles in the financial services industry.

Know a student looking to enter the banking industry?

Download and send them this flyer.




Application Questions

Review the list of questions on the application and prepare your answers so you're ready to apply.

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must meet all of the following criteria:

  • Be a citizen or permanent resident of the United States or Canada.
  • Be a current college student enrolled in a full-time undergraduate course of study at an accredited four-year college or university in the United States or Canada and will continue to be enrolled full time for the entire 2023-2024 academic year.
  • Intends to work in the banking industry following graduation.
  • Maintain a minimum grade point average of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale overall (or equivalent).

Applicants do not have to be a current RMA member, but they must join (free) and remain a member to receive and renew their scholarship.

RMA employees and their dependents are ineligible to apply. Others ineligible to participate include current members of the Board of Directors of RMA and the RMA Foundation and their families

How are winners determined?

Scholarship recipients are selected based on merit with the following factors:

  • Demonstrated interest in the banking industry; (Examples: previous employment in a bank; RMA membership; involvement in local RMA chapter; academic studies; internships).
  • Academic achievement.
  • Participation and leadership in community and school activities, or related work experience.
  • Statement of career goals and objectives.

Financial need will not be considered.


2022 William F. Githens Scholarship

The William F. Githens Scholarship, named for RMA's former CEO, is awarded yearly to the most promising candidate or candidates who demonstrate exceptional academic achievements and commitment to the financial services industry.


Caleb Nolander

Grand Valley State University



2022-23 RMA Foundation Scholarships

We are proud to present this year's RMA Scholars with RMA Foundation Scholarships:

Ãngela Huereca-Alvarado Trinity University
Aaron Karaja Mount Royal University
Aesha Mehta Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Ahmed Ghabin University of Texas at Dallas
Alahna Knight Virginia State University
Alejandra Zapata Fort Hays State University
Alex Mancuso Drexel University
Alexa LoMonaco Dartmouth College
Amber Wiggins Johnson C. Smith University
Amber Falgren Fort Hays State University
Anders Larson North Dakota State University
Andrew Emerson Anderson University
Andrew Hall Texas Tech University
Anijah Jones Tennessee State University
Austin Turner Texas Tech University
Befiker Ollivierre University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Bianca Baldassaro Merrimack College
Caleb Nolander Grand Valley State University
Cameron Shepherd Stephen F. Austin State University
Carlos Cortes St. Mary's University
Chad Lockard Morehouse College
Charity Mwansa Metropolitan State University of Denver
Chase Gladstone Indiana University Bloomington
Chase Fitzpatrick Texas Southern University
Citlalli Cruz University of Washington
Claudia Utria Alveraz Morgan State University
Clayton Nelson North Dakota State University
Cody Poskin University of Mississippi
Colin McEvoy Virginia Tech
Connor Mueller University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
D'Angelo Alvarado Marquette University
Danielle Jackson Norfolk State University
Danika Gordon South Dakota State University
Dasia Foster Harris-Stowe State University
David Schulte Fort Hays State University
Destiny Spady North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University
Devon Woodfine California Polytechnic University Pomona
Divine Madubike Mercer University
Dylan Rudnick North Dakota State University
Dylan Gray North Carolina State University
Eli Johnson Salisbury University
Eliseo Chavez University of Phoenix
Elizabeth Zeutenhorst University of Iowa
Estifanos Robertson Nova Southeastern University
Evan Venne University of Wisconsin-Madison
Forrest Bicker Harvey Mudd College
Gabriel Waldowski Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania
Giancarlo Diotaiuti Utah State University
Graci Schomaker University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Haley Van Nurden South Dakota State University
Hannah Schinker Michigan State University
Husnain Ali Guilford College
Ian Alves Western New England University
Isabel Wollermann University of Northwestern - St. Paul

Isabela Londono Harris-Stowe State University
Jack DeLester University of Oklahoma
Jacob Heit Mount Mercy University
Jacqueline Chung Ryerson University
Jada Carter Tennessee State University
Jalaiya Johnson Texas Southern University
James Jordan Benedict College
JayLen Thompson Texas Southern University
Jessalyn Kirchhoff Fort Hays State University
Jordan Pratt James Madison University
Jordan Johnson Prairie View A&M University
Kameran Edwards Oakland University
Kameron Napoli Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University
Kameron Pree Texas Southern University
Katie McCabe North Dakota State University
Kaycee Watkins Harris-Stowe State University
Kayla Jarvis Xavier University of Louisiana
Kelsey Sivertson Hope College
Kiana Mond Texas Southern University
Kinsey Duwa University of Alabama
Luis Maldonado University of Houston
Madeline Bale Yale University
Madison Johnshoy Indiana University: Kelley School of Business
Massimo Kluever Harris-Stowe State University
Matt Westelman Texas A&M University
Matthew Ziff Saint Joseph's University
Matthew Allen James Madison University
Max O'Rourke Wayne State University
Michael Hare Providence College
Michael Clarke University of British Columbia
Mikolaj Dueholm University of Minnesota: Twin Cities
Miriam Darden Texas Southern University
Monica Johnson Norfolk State University
Myles Lynch Howard University
Nathan Gong University of California: Los Angeles
Nathan Le Texas A&M University
Nicholas Drew Southern New Hampshire University
Olivia Rauch North Dakota State University
Quentin Williams Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University
Richard Feliz Garcia Liberty University
Sherifa Clarke City University of New York: Medgar Evers College
Sierra Sands Spelman College
Sifa Butcher Howard University
Sophie Clakley Stephen F. Austin State University
Stephen Edds Samford University
Stephen Gutke Utah State University
Tamara Mazets Fordham University
Trevor Sherf Bob Jones University
Tyler Lyster University of Nebraska - Omaha
Tyler Miller Kansas State University
Wuji Chen University of Toronto
Zachariah Smith Morehouse College
Zachary Rohleder North Dakota State University
Zion Melson Morehouse College